My First Garden

Well, I guess technically it’s not my first garden. But I’d hardly call my last attempt at growing vegetables, which took place at my old house in my concrete slab of a “backyard” in the city, a garden. Everything died. Which wasn’t surprising, because 1) …concrete slab and 2) my thumb hasn’t always been the lovely shade of green that it is today. I blame the environment though, as I’m SURE it had nothing to do with the fact I didn’t water, or overwatered, or forgot I even had plants.

So, where was I? Oh right. My first garden. VOILÀ.

I love our new house. The backyard is quirky, has lots of character, and the previous owners even built this raised bed! Very ideal (less work for me). If this year turns out to be fruitful…or should I say, VEGGIE-ful…I may expand, but for now this is perfect. So, here’s what I planted:

  • Tomatoes (x3)
  • Red & Green Pepper
  • Jalapeno Pepper (x2)
  • Bush Beans (x2)
  • Cucumbers (x2)
  • Lettuce from seeds
  • Radishes from seeds
  • Herbs: Basil, Rosemary, Thyme, Parsley, Dill, Fennel

We even found two herb plants in our flower bed recently – oregano and lemon balm! Win.

I have high hopes for my garden this year, so fingers crossed that everything goes smoothly. I’ll be sure to post updates! Unless everything dies. Then I’ll just let you live in suspense.

Any tips or words of wisdom for a “first time” gardener? What did you plant this year?

Leave a Reply

